Home
Contents
Legal
Dedicated
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8
Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 20
Chapter 21
Chapter 22
Chapter 23
Chapter 24
Chapter 25
Chapter 26
Chapter 27
Chapter 28
Glossary
Error
Messages

Chapter 7

Back to Previous Chapter

Forward to Next Chapter

Back to Contents

 

Advanced Search

 

Memorized transaction list and changes

Using memorized transactions is quite easy, but the concept should be understood.  Initially, it is like a rubber stamp.  The difference is, anything can be changed, when the transaction is called from the list and used.  When it is recalled, a new transaction is generated for entry into the books of account, just as if you had entered it by hand.

Control-T opens the list of memorized transactions and several actions can be done.

Changing the title, scheduling, or joining a group is done by clicking the Memorized Transaction button and then Edit , which opens a window nearly identical to the Memorize Transaction window (above.)

Changingthe content requires using and re-memorizing it, using the method described below.

diting the content of a memorized transaction XE "memorized transaction:editing"  is something else.  First, a decision must be made. The name in the list may be the same, or you may need to change it.  Change requires an extra step in the middle.  The view shows the menu (in QuickBooks 5) after the Memorized Transaction button has been clicked.

Control-T again brings up the list. Highlight one transaction and click Enter Transaction to open a window, entering this transaction.

Make the necessary changes in the transaction.  

Type Control-M (or click Edit|Memorize) and memorize the transaction.  The action will be challenged, because of the existing transaction by that name.  However, you do want to replace the existing transaction, so do so.

Confirming replacement or deletion, in general, is controlled by a preference. If there was no confirmation requirement, click File|Preferences|General and turn on Warn when deleting transactions ... .  (In QuickBooks 4, click Preferences|Transactions, and turn on confirmation.)  Do not run without requiring confirmation on deletion or replacement, until you are very familiar with the program.

The earliest versions do not have this degree of control.  You have to control the memorized transaction names yourself, and also watch for duplicated transactions.  The old form of the transaction will have to be deleted by selecting it in the list and clicking (on the menu bar) Edit|Delete Memorized Transaction.

Contents |   Up   |   Previous   |   Next

About BlockTax   |   Awards   |   Contacts   |   QB Newsletter   |   Home   |   Legal
Last modified: May 21, 2004